SCOHTS Membership

Chair: Rudy Malfabon, Nevada

Vice Chair: James Barna, Ohio

Secretary: Elizabeth Alicandri, FHWA

AASHTO Staff Liaisons


 

Charge and Membership Statement:

The committee shall encourage, recommend and support highway safety programs to reduce highway related crashes with special emphasis on fatalities and serious injuries on all highway systems and promote national health and economic growth. The committee shall continue to evaluate highway safety needs in the broad definition encompassing the four E's—Engineering, Enforcement, Education and Emergency medical services with a broad focus on the facilities, vehicles, drivers, and supporting systems. It shall be responsible for the development and continuedupdating of AASHTO Strategy Highway Safety Plan.

It shall monitor national trends and circumstances to ascertain highway safety influences and propose appropriate action. Based upon qualified studies, it shall comment to the Member Departments and the Board of Directors on measures before Congress that would affect highway safety.

It shall serve as a forum to disseminate, and exchange information on innovative measures that national organizations, individual states and localities have developed to improve safety among the Member Departments and the various other AASHTO committees and subcommittees.

The committee shall identify and receive reports from its subcommittees and task forces as to federal regulatory mandates of national concern, and provide reports thereon.

It may interact with other organizations involved in highway safety in designing long term strategies and developing plans that support a recommended highway safety direction for AASHTO now and in the future.

This list of such organization may include but not limited to: National Safety Council, International Association of Chiefs of Police, American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, Governors' Highway Safety Association, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, Transportation Research Board, National Sheriffs Association, American Trucking Association, American Automobile Association, Health and Emergency Medical Groups, National Association of State Emergency Medical Services Officials, Traffic law enforcement specialty training institutions, Institute of Transportation Engineer, National Association of County Engineers, and other appropriate public and private groups.

Membership on this committee shall consist of a Chair and Vice Chair plus five persons from each of the four AASHTO regions;

  • two Chief Executive Officers, deputy CEOs or chief highway or engineering officers;
  • a combination of three state highway safety representatives and/or state traffic engineers.
  • Five additional members shall consist of members from the various AASHTO Member departments that relate to the following disciplines:
    • State Traffic Law Enforcement,
    • Motor Vehicle Administrators,
    • Emergency Medical, and
    • Governors Highway Safety Representatives.

In addition, one non-voting member maybe identified from each of the following Federal Agencies:

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Federal Highway Administration,
  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration,
  • National Transportation Safety Board,
  • Department of Defense

All members of the committee shall be appointed by the President of the Association. The term of the appointments shall be four years with reappointment possible at the discretion of the President, except for the committee officers, who shall be appointed to the terms provided for in Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety Charge.​


 

Committee Name: Committee on Safety
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Malfabon, Rudy rmalfabon@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Chair Non-Voting
Hardy, Kelly K. khardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Walker, John-Michael walkerjoh@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Benifield, Waymon benifieldw@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Moore, Gary mooreg@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kramer, Tammy tammy.kramer@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Thomas, Scott scott.thomas@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Voting
Walker, Matt matthew.walker@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Wilcoxon, Kerry Kwilcoxon@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Beck, Scott sbeck@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Aglan-Swick, Mona maglan-swick@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Brewer, Andrew andrew.brewer@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jones, Jessie Jessie.Jones@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Qazi, Adnan Rashid Adnan.Qazi@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Takigawa, Steve steve_takigawa@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Bhullar, Jesse J jesse_bhullar@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Schriber, Thomas thomas.schriber@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lingk, Darrell darrell.lingk@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Meyer, Charles E. charles.e.meyer@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ouellette, Joseph Joseph.Ouellette@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cristalli, Joseph T joseph.cristalli@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Cabelus, Robbin L Robbin.Cabelus@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Neidert, Scott W scott.neidert@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Haag, Peter R peter.haag@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Rogers, Jonathan jonathan.rogers@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lewis, Carole carole.lewis@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Anderson, Leon leon.anderson@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hollingsworth, Lora B. lora.hollingsworth@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Santos, Joe B joseph.santos@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Zehngraff, Scott szehngraff@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Adams, David eadams@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kahikina, Karen karen.g.kahikina@hawaii.gov Hawaii Department of Transportation Member Voting
Higaki, Jan A jan.higaki@hawaii.gov Hawaii Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Nagano, Lee Lee.Nagano@hawaii.gov Hawaii Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Sablan, Kevin kevin.sablan@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Tomlinson, John john.tomlinson@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Voting
Osman, Omer Omer.Osman@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Steckler, Brad L. bsteckler@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gent, Steve steve.gent@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Laaser-Webb, Jan Jan.Laaser-Webb@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Buckley, Steve buckley@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bortz, Chris CBortz@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Vaughn, Michael Mike.Vaughn@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Non-Voting
Renard, April C april.renard@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Magri, Dan Dan.Magri@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
McRae, Adriane Adriane.Mcrae@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Belz, Darryl darryl.belz@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Skehan, P.E., Robert robert.skehan@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Emidy, Dennis dennis.emidy@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ward, Cedric cward@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Nizer, Chrissy cnizer@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gianni, Thomas J tgianni@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Danila, James james.danila@dot.state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Boudreau, Neil E. neil.boudreau@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Polin, Bonnie bonnie.polin@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Voting
Johnson, Aaron JohnsonA25@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Shaughnessy, Steve shaughnessys@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zimmer, Kim ZimmerK@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hietpas, Jay Jerard Jay.Hietpas@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Martinson, Jody jody.martinson@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Willis, James jcwillis@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nelson, Jonathan Jonathan.Nelson@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hood, Nicole Ann Kolb nicole.hood@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Honich, Thomas R thomas.honich@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Tooley, Mike mitooley@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Burke, Tricia pburke@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Zwonechek, Fred E. Fred.Zwonechek@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Waddle, Dan Dan.Waddle@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mammen, Ken kmammen@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kiser, Paul pkiser@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Oldenburg, William william.oldenburg@dot.nh.gov New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Dugas, Mike Michael.Dugas@dot.nh.gov New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Gunn, Sally sally.gunn@dot.nh.gov New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lisanti, Daniel Daniel.LiSanti@dot.state.nj.us New Jersey Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Sandoval, Michael michael.sandoval1@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Troy, Shawn stroy@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lacy, Kevin jklacy1@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mayhew, Brian bmayhew@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
MONGEON, KARIN kamongeon@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Berger, Jane E jeberger@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
May, Michelle L. Michelle.May@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Troyer, Derek A. derek.troyer@dot.ohio.gov Ohio Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Warren, Matt mwarren@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Pendley, Chad A cpendley@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Holder, Ann P. anne.p.holder@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Bish, Douglas W. douglas.w.bish@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Costales, Troy E. troy.e.costales@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gray, Gavin E gagray@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mulkerin, Kristin kmulkerin@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Pristawa, Steven steve.pristawa@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Raymond, Sean sean.raymond@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Abbate, Gabrielle M gabrielle.abbate@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Harrelson, Brett harrelsodb@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Eargle, Kenny earglekb@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Witt, Dustin Dustin.Witt@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Vandel, Andy andy.vandel@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Murphy, Jeff Jeff.Murphy@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Norris, Jay jay.norris@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
McDaniel, Darren V Darren.McDaniel@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pence, Terry Terry.Pence@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Miles, Robert robertmiles@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lewis, Jeff jefflewis@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Nyquist, Bruce bruce.nyquist@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting
Cole, Mark Andrew Mark.Cole@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Read, Stephen W. Stephen.Read@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Donahue, John Patrick DonahJo@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Dornfeld, Mike dornfem@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Milton, John C miltonj@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mays, Marsha Marsha.K.Mays@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kinsey, Chris J Chris.J.kinsey@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Porter, Brian Brian.Porter@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ratliff, Shannon Shannon.Ratliff@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Carlson, Matthew D. matt.carlson@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Alicandri, Beth Beth.Alicandri@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting
​​​​​