SCOHTS Membership

Chair: Rudy Malfabon, Nevada

Vice Chair: James Barna, Ohio

Secretary: Tony Furst, FHWA

AASHTO Staff Liaisons


Charge and Membership Statement:

The committee shall encourage, recommend and support highway safety programs to reduce highway related crashes with special emphasis on fatalities and serious injuries on all highway systems and promote national health and economic growth. The committee shall continue to evaluate highway safety needs in the broad definition encompassing the four E's—Engineering, Enforcement, Education and Emergency medical services with a broad focus on the facilities, vehicles, drivers, and supporting systems. It shall be responsible for the development and continuedupdating of AASHTO Strategy Highway Safety Plan.

It shall monitor national trends and circumstances to ascertain highway safety influences and propose appropriate action. Based upon qualified studies, it shall comment to the Member Departments and the Board of Directors on measures before Congress that would affect highway safety.

It shall serve as a forum to disseminate, and exchange information on innovative measures that national organizations, individual states and localities have developed to improve safety among the Member Departments and the various other AASHTO committees and subcommittees.

The committee shall identify and receive reports from its subcommittees and task forces as to federal regulatory mandates of national concern, and provide reports thereon.

It may interact with other organizations involved in highway safety in designing long term strategies and developing plans that support a recommended highway safety direction for AASHTO now and in the future.

This list of such organization may include but not limited to: National Safety Council, International Association of Chiefs of Police, American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, Governors' Highway Safety Association, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, Transportation Research Board, National Sheriffs Association, American Trucking Association, American Automobile Association, Health and Emergency Medical Groups, National Association of State Emergency Medical Services Officials, Traffic law enforcement specialty training institutions, Institute of Transportation Engineer, National Association of County Engineers, and other appropriate public and private groups.

Membership on this committee shall consist of a Chair and Vice Chair plus five persons from each of the four AASHTO regions;

  • two Chief Executive Officers, deputy CEOs or chief highway or engineering officers;
  • a combination of three state highway safety representatives and/or state traffic engineers.
  • Five additional members shall consist of members from the various AASHTO Member departments that relate to the following disciplines:
    • State Traffic Law Enforcement,
    • Motor Vehicle Administrators,
    • Emergency Medical, and
    • Governors Highway Safety Representatives.

In addition, one non-voting member maybe identified from each of the following Federal Agencies:

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Federal Highway Administration,
  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration,
  • National Transportation Safety Board,
  • Department of Defense

All members of the committee shall be appointed by the President of the Association. The term of the appointments shall be four years with reappointment possible at the discretion of the President, except for the committee officers, who shall be appointed to the terms provided for in Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety Charge.​


Committee Name: Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Malfabon, Rudy rmalfabon@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Barna, James A. Jim.Barna@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
TenEyck, Rosemary J. rteneyck@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Hardy, Kelly K. khardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Barnett, Timothy E barnettt@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bhullar, Jasvinderjit J jesse_bhullar@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cristalli, Joseph T. joseph.cristalli@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tobias, Priscilla A priscilla.tobias@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Steckler, Brad L. bsteckler@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Larson, Sandra Q. sandra.larson@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Brunell, Duane Duane.Brunell@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nizer, Chrissy cnizer@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Polin, Bonnie bonnie.polin@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mulvihill, Susan M. sue.mulvihill@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Willis, James jcwillis@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tooley, Mike mitooley@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zwonechek, Fred E. Fred.Zwonechek@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Voting
Mammen, Ken kmammen@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nail, Don dnail@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Milton, John C miltonj@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cramer, Cindy Cindy.L.Cramer@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ratliff, Lt. Colonel Shannon Shannon.Ratliff@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Stocks, Holli hstocks@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Ng'ethe, Patricia pngethe@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials AASHTO Staff None
Evans, Monique R. monique.evans@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Griffith, Michael Mike.Griffith@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Alicandri, Elizabeth Beth.Alicandri@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Miller, Susan G. sgmiller@co.freeborn.mn.us National Association of County Engineers Friend Non-Voting
Grossman, Ian IGrossman@aamva.org American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators Other Non-Voting
Roberts, Brian broberts@naco.org National Association of County Engineers Other Non-Voting
GAINOR, DIA dia@nasemso.org National Association of State Emergency Medical Service Officials Other Non-Voting
Gunnels, Maggi Maggi.gunnels@dot.gov National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Other None
Walsh, Marie B Marie.Walsh@la.gov National Local Technical Assistance Program Association Other Non-Voting
Cohen, Gregory M. gregcohen@roadwaysafety.org Roadway Safety Foundation Other Non-Voting
Kleiner, Bernardo bkleiner@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
Bush, Mark S mbush@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
​​​​​