Safety Leadership Award

 

Safety Leadership Award Presentation

AASHTO Annual Meeting

September 27, 2015

Awards Luncheon

The AASHTO Safety Leadership Award honors a state that has made significant improvements in safety by showing s demonstrated leadership in safety, strong safety partnerships and strategic planning, and innovation in safety.

This year, 11 states submitted applications for this award and all of the states demonstrate a commitment to safety and strong safety programs.  

The 2015 Safety Leadership Award goes to state of Iowa. Paul Trombino, Iowa's Department of Transportation Secretary was at the luncheon to receive the award.  Rudy Malfabon, Secretary of Nevada Department of Transportation and chair of the SCOHTS committee presented this award.

The Iowa Department of Transportation demonstrates its leadership in safety through its commitment to pilot new programs and strategies, continue supporting successful activities, and communicating the safety message throughout the state and the DOT. Strong leadership throughout the DOT has been key to its safety success, seen in the continued decline in fatalities in Iowa.

A strong collaborative group of traffic safety partners has supported several new initiatives over the past couple years:

  • Safety plans for locals and for the DOT districts
  • The "High Five Rural Traffic Safety" project using engineering, enforcement, and education to build safer rural communities
  • A new web-based crash data analysis tool which supports new initiatives and data-driven decisions through improved analysis and customer service. 

Iowa continues to use its successful programs, including a cable median barrier program, impaired driving enforcement and training, expanding use of intelligent transportation systems, supporting the Local Technical Assistance Program's safety engineering activities, and sponsoring innovative safety research.

A traffic safety communications program is key to the success in Iowa. The DOT is aware that a key ingredient in reducing fatalities and serious injuries over the coming years will be public awareness of traffic safety strategies for improving driver behavior. One example is Message Monday, where the DOT posts the current number of traffic fatalities along with a traffic safety message on dynamic message boards across the state each Monday. Staff are encouraged to develop creative messages that help start conversations about safety, increase visitors to social media sites, and increase media attention on safety.

Congratulations to Iowa for being the 2015 AASHTO Safety Leadership Award recipients.  

 

 

 

PRESENTATIONS From 2015 Annual Meeting

Public health peer exchange overview-Hardy
AASHTO Strategic Plan-SCOHTS - Malfabon
12-04: Advances in Transportation Agency Knowledge Management- Oman
State and Local implications for Connected and Automated Vehicles - Pol
SCOHTS April 2015.pdf
SHRP2 Solutions Wyoming: Inclement Weather Trips and Driver Behavior  - McDowell
GHSA Update Presentaion .pdf
SHRP2_Florida: Driver Inrteractions with Pedestrians Features at Signalized Intersections - Benson
SHRP2_Safety_SCOHTS_LeBasv3
SHRP2_Safety_SCOHTS_Malfabon4_10_15 V2.pdf
Presentation AASTHO.pptx

 2014 Annual SCOHTS Meeting Presentations

Montgomery, AL May 13-15, 2014

Presentations: 

 

   Task Group Reports
 
   

SCOHTS Strategic Plan

The Highway Safety Manual is available:
What is the Highway Safety Manual?
The Highway Safety Manual (HSM) introduces a science-based technical approach that takes the guesswork out of safety analysis. The HSM provides tools to conduct quantitative safety analyses, allowing for safety to be quantitatively evaluated alongside other transportation performance measures such as traffic operations, environmental impacts, and construction costs.
 
Visit http://www.highwaysafetymanual.org for more information
 
 
Visit the Subcommittee on Safety Management SCOHTS-SM
 
AASHTO Reauthorization Policy on Transportation Safety.​​
   
 
SCOHTS Leadership
    

Chair: Rudy Malfabon, Nevada
Vice Chair: James Barna, Ohio
Secretary: Tony Furst, FHWA
​AASHTO Staff Liaison: Kelly Hardy

 

Suscribe today to the AASHTO Journal by clicking this linkhttp://www.aashtojournal.org/Pages/Subscribe.aspx

 

Committee Name: Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Malfabon, Rudy rmalfabon@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Barna, James A. Jim.Barna@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Wishnia, Andrew andrew.wishnia@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
Furst, Tony T. Tony.Furst@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
TenEyck, Rosemary J. rteneyck@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Lovell, Tracy Allen tlovell@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Hardy, Kelly K. khardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Stocks, Holli hstocks@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Baldwin, Ronald L. baldwinr@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bhullar, Jasvinderjit J jesse_bhullar@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cristalli, Joseph T. joseph.cristalli@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tobias, Priscilla A priscilla.tobias@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Steckler, Brad L. bsteckler@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Adam, John F. john.adam@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nizer, Chrissy cnizer@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mulvihill, Susan M. sue.mulvihill@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Willis, James jcwillis@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tooley, Mike mitooley@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zwonechek, Fred E. Fred.Zwonechek@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Voting
Nail, Don dnail@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Farhoumand, Kazem kazem.farhoumand@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rawson, Carol T. Carol.Rawson@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cramer, Cindy Cindy.L.Cramer@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ratliff, Lt. Colonel Shannon Shannon.Ratliff@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Griffith, Michael Mike.Griffith@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Alicandri, Elizabeth Beth.Alicandri@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Evans, Monique R. monique.evans@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Strickland, Erik estrickland@ghsa.org Governors Highway Safety Association Friend Non-Voting
Miller, Susan G. sgmiller@co.freeborn.mn.us National Association of County Engineers Friend Non-Voting
Kissinger, J. Peter pkissinger@aaafoundation.org AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety Other Non-Voting
Roberts, Brian C. broberts@naco.org National Association of County Engineers Other Non-Voting
GAINOR, DIA dia@nasemso.org National Association of State Emergency Medical Service Officials Other Non-Voting
Gunnels, Maggi Maggi.gunnels@dot.gov National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Other None
Walsh, Marie B. Marie.Walsh@la.gov National Local Technical Assistance Program Association Other Non-Voting
Cohen, Gregory M. gregcohen@roadwaysafety.org Roadway Safety Foundation Other Non-Voting
Kleiner, Bernardo bkleiner@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
Bush, Mark mbush@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
​​

​​​​​​​