2017 SCOHTS Safety Management Meeting 



Safety Performance Measures Update - FHWA Griffith & ​Sinclair

GHSA Update - Pence TX DOT​

Update on FHWA Crash Costs Initiative - Griffith FHWA​  p>

Safety Implementation Assistance Program Updateb- Hutton AASHTO​

SHRP2 Safety Research:NDS Pooled Fund Study and Broad Area Announcement Projects - Pol - FHWA  

NCHRP 17-72: Update of CMFs for the Highway Safety Manual -Gross VHB

NCHRP 17-71 Proposed AASHTO Highway Safety Manual,2nd Edition​ - Toole, Kittleson

The Road To Zero (RTZ) Coalition - FHWA​

CCR Restructuring Update for SCOHTS

FDOT Safety April 2017.pdf​ Santos

SCOHTS2017HSM2 Ptogress Review - Tobias - IL DOT



 2017 Safety Leadership Award  

    Announcement Letter and Criteria​


Safety Leadership Award  

The 2016 Safety Leadership Award winners are Minnesota and Tennessee


Minnesota, Tennessee Win Safety Awards

The association's Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety awarded the 2016 AASHTO Safety Leadership Award to the state departments of transportation for Minnesota and Tennessee.

Committee Chairman Rudy Malfabon, the Nevada DOT director, presented the awards Nov. 14 at the annual meeting in Boston to MnDOT Commissioner Charles Zelle and TDOT Commissioner John Schroer.

The annual award recognizes a state that has made significant improvements in safety by showing leadership in safety, strong safety partnerships and strategic planning, and innovation in safety.

The announcement said Minnesota's DOT uses "multidisciplinary approaches to eliminate fatalities and life-changing injuries" that come from roadway crashes. Its safety focus extends beyond state-owned roads, since about half of Minnesota's federal Highway Safety Improvement Program funds are distributed to local agencies, and MnDOT works to deploy resources and assess crash risks with partners in the Toward Zero Deaths campaign around the state.

"MnDOT is willing to try new safety countermeasures and methods for moving toward zero," including alternative designs for intersections, warning strips in pavement and vendor contracts to install safety infrastructure treatments quickly.

The award citation said the Tennessee DOT and its partners across the state "are aggressively implementing their updated strategic highway safety plan and demonstrating their leadership with a wide range of safety initiatives."

In particular, the committee said TDOT has worked to address the risks of secondary crashes in queues, has expanded its deployment of vehicle-assistance Help trucks, conducted traffic incident management training and implemented a two-way sharing of publicly available crowd-sourced traffic data.


SCOHTS Strategic Plan


The Highway Safety Manual is available:
What is the Highway Safety Manual?
The Highway Safety Manual (HSM) introduces a science-based technical approach that takes the guesswork out of safety analysis. The HSM provides tools to conduct quantitative safety analyses, allowing for safety to be quantitatively evaluated alongside other transportation performance measures such as traffic operations, environmental impacts, and construction costs.
Visit http://www.highwaysafetymanual.org for more information
Visit the Subcommittee on Safety Management SCOHTS-SM
AASHTO Reauthorization Policy on Transportation Safety.​​
SCOHTS Leadership

Chair: Rudy Malfabon, Nevada
Vice Chair: James Barna, Ohio
Secretary: Beth Ali​candri, FHWA
​AASHTO Staff Liaison: Kelly Hardy


Suscribe today to the AASHTO Journal by clicking this link http://www.aashtojournal.org/Pages/Subscribe.aspx