Registration for the 2015 SCOHTS Annual meeting is now open.  Please click the link below to register.

www.cvent.com/events/2015SCOHTS

 

 

 

​2014 Safety Leadership Award

The AASHTO Safety Leadership Award recognizes member states that have demonstrated themselves to be safety champions through actions designed to drive down serious injuries and fatalities. One or more states can receive the award each year.  The leadership of SCOHTS chooses the award recipient(s).
 
The 2014 Safety Leadership Award winner is the New York Department of Transportation.  Rudy Malfabon, Director of the
Nevada Department of TRansportation presented the award on Sunday November 23, 2014 at the AASHTO Annual Meeting
Awards Luncheon.  Robert Limoges, Director of the Safety Program Management and Coordination Bureau for the New York State
Department of Transportation was present to accept the award.

 

Highlights of New York's safety program:

  • The New York State Department of Transportation works closely with partner agencies on the Governor's Transportation Safety Committee to develop and implement both traditional and innovative safety programs. 
  • To support this, the DOT established the Statewide System Safety and Optimization Team to develop and implement safety and mobility strategies for the Department.
  • To reach its goal of obligating 100 percent of its federal Highway Safety Improvement Program funds, the New York State DOT distributes funds to the regions and also uses a portion of the funds based on the expected safety impact and alignment with the state Strategic Highway Safety Plan.  This method allows for both on- and off-system projects to be considered using consistent criteria.
  • Two key safety emphasis areas for New York are pedestrians and roadway departure crashes, and the DOT is working with partners to reach it's the state's aggressive goals in these areas.
  • New York frequently leads efforts to use new approaches, programs or funding procedures to address safety concerns, including infrastructure, behavioral, data, legislative, and other types of strategies.  
  • And last but not least, for at least the past 5 years, New York has seen a decline in its 5-year average of fatalities and serious injuries.

 

 2014 Annual SCOHTS Meeting Presentations

Montgomery, AL May 13-15, 2014

Presentations: 

 

   Task Group Reports
 
   

SCOHTS Strategic Plan

The Highway Safety Manual is available:
What is the Highway Safety Manual?
The Highway Safety Manual (HSM) introduces a science-based technical approach that takes the guesswork out of safety analysis. The HSM provides tools to conduct quantitative safety analyses, allowing for safety to be quantitatively evaluated alongside other transportation performance measures such as traffic operations, environmental impacts, and construction costs.
 
Visit http://www.highwaysafetymanual.org for more information
 
 
Visit the Subcommittee on Safety Management SCOHTS-SM
 
AASHTO Reauthorization Policy on Transportation Safety.​​
   
 
SCOHTS Leadership
    

Chair: Rudy Malfabon, Nevada
Vice Chair: James Barna, Ohio
Secretary: Tony Furst, FHWA
​AASHTO Staff Liaison: Kelly Hardy

 

Committee Name: Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Malfabon, Rudy rmalfabon@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Barna, James A. Jim.Barna@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Wishnia, Andrew andrew.wishnia@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
Furst, Tony T. Tony.Furst@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
TenEyck, Rosemary J. rteneyck@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Hardy, Kelly K. khardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Lovell, Tracy Allen tlovell@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Baldwin, Ronald L. baldwinr@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bhullar, Jasvinderjit J jesse_bhullar@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cristalli, Joseph T. joseph.cristalli@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jennings, Brent brent.jennings@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Voting
Tobias, Priscilla A. priscilla.tobias@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Steckler, Brad L. bsteckler@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Adam, John F. john.adam@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
LeBas, Sherri Sherri.LeBas@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Chaffee, Milton mchaffee1@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mulvihill, Susan M. sue.mulvihill@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Willis, James jcwillis@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tooley, Mike mitooley@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zwonechek, Fred E. Fred.Zwonechek@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Voting
Nail, Don dnail@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Modi, Girish G gmodi@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Farhoumand, Kazem kazem.farhoumand@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rawson, Carol T. Carol.Rawson@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cramer, Cindy Cindy.L.Cramer@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ratliff, Lt. Colonel Shannon Shannon.Ratliff@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Stocks, Holli hstocks@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Evans, Monique R. monique.evans@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Griffith, Michael Mike.Griffith@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Alicandri, Elizabeth Beth.Alicandri@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Strickland, Erik estrickland@ghsa.org Governors Highway Safety Association Friend Non-Voting
Miller, Susan G. sgmiller@co.freeborn.mn.us National Association of County Engineers Friend Non-Voting
Kissinger, J. Peter pkissinger@aaafoundation.org AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety Other Non-Voting
Roberts, Brian C. broberts@naco.org National Association of County Engineers Other Non-Voting
GAINOR, DIA dia@nasemso.org National Association of State Emergency Medical Service Officials Other Non-Voting
Gunnels, Maggi Maggi.gunnels@dot.gov National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Other None
Walsh, Marie B. Marie.Walsh@la.gov National Local Technical Assistance Program Association Other Non-Voting
Cohen, Gregory M. gregcohen@roadwaysafety.org Roadway Safety Foundation Other Non-Voting
Kleiner, Bernardo bkleiner@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
Bush, Mark mbush@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
​​

​​​​​​​